Organic Modelling Reflection

I really struggled with this assignment and found over the course of it that I need to study anatomy and natural forms far more. I don’t have any experience with portraiture as I’ve always been drawn to environments, so this was a big jump for me in an artistic way. However, I’m happy that I picked up some skills in Z brush and found it quite similar to clay when I was working. I think this project was also slightly rushed and I didn’t give myself enough time to flesh out the form more, so time management between projects is something that I will definitely have to balance more in the future. I’m confident now with using Substance Painter, but I don’t really think the textures turned out that appealing for this sculpt, so over the summer I will play about more and see if I can try to get to grips with Substance Designer and Substance Alchemist. Overall, I’m happy enough with the outcome of this model however I’m a bit disappointed as I think I could’ve pushed myself further – especially in the muscle structure of the face and the re topology. I’m the most happiest with the ears. Over the summer months I will be working on an individual project to definitely try to refine skills in these areas more.

Elf Lord
Zbrush turnaround

Leave a comment